During a private event at the PRINT 19 show in Chicago, the Association for Print Technologies (APTech) announced the recipients of the 2019 Harold W. Gegenheimer Awards.

Named for the former association president and Baldwin Technology company chairman emeritus, the two Gegenheimer awards recognize an individual and a company that demonstrate enduring commitments to the benefit of the print industry.

This year’s recipients are HP and Malkon “Mal” Baboyian, Canon Oce (retired).

Founded in 1939 by Bill Hewlett and Dave Packard, HP has come to be known as one of the foremost leaders in tech. HP has been a long-time supporter of APTech with several people serving on its board.  

Mal Baboyian has served on various committees and as a member of the board for APTech for more than a decade, serving as chairman from 2015 to 2017.

His tireless commitment over his 30+ year tenure to building the production printing systems business at Canon Oce and his participation in the betterment of the print industry has made a profound positive impact that truly deserves being recognized, according to APTech.

APTech also announced the selection of its 2020 board the PRINT 19 event.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.