Eddie Tyner

  • Updated

President of sales for the Great Lakes region for Gannett and the USA Today Network, left the Cincinnati Enquirer at the beginning of 2021 to serve as Comcast's regional vice president for the Atlantic region, working out of Nashville. Tyner joined the Enquirer in 2016.

Natalie Diamond

Quartz has appointed her to the role of chief revenue officer, responsible for the company’s advertising business. Diamond joined Quartz in 2014 and most recently served as vice president of partnerships and managed the global sales team.

Kevin Warren

Has been named publisher of The Natchez Democrat, Natchez the Magazine, Brookhaven Daily Leader, Brookhaven Magazine, the Prentiss Headlight and related digital and print products.

Wayne Powell

  • Updated

Former Sentinel (Carlisle, Pennsylvania) publisher, has died at 83. Powell had been battling Alzheimer's disease for several years.

Mark Baldwin

  • Updated

Rockford Register Star Editor Mark Baldwin announced his retirement effective the end of 2020.

Alan Davis

  • Updated

Daily Tribune News (Cartersville, Georgia) and Chatsworth Times (Georgia) publisher, is retiring after 47 years in the newspaper industry.

Jeff Funk

  • Updated

Publisher of the Enid News & Eagle, announced his retirement, which was effective Dec. 31. In addition to leading the News & Eagle and EnidNews.com, Funk has been a senior publisher responsible for the Woodward News and Duncan Banner, publications also owned by CNHI.

Dave Atkinson,

  • Updated

Has retired production manager of The Salina Journal (Kansas), has died of COVID-19 at 73.

Bill Barker

  • Updated

President and publisher of the Naples Daily News, has stepped down. Barker has served as a regional president for Gannett in Florida as well as the president and publisher of the Naples Daily News and The News-Press since April 2016.

John Bridges & Manny Garcia

  • Updated

The editor of the Austin American-Statesman, John Bridges, is retiring after 32 years with the paper. Bridges will be succeeded by Manny Garcia, who will also hold the title of vice president when he takes up his duties. Garcia currently leads ProPublica’s Austin-based investigative partnership with the Texas Tribune.

Arthur Golden

  • Updated

The New York Times Company announced that Arthur Golden was appointed to its board, effective Jan. 1. Golden, a fourth-generation member of the Ochs Sulzberger family, is a best-selling author.

Bobby Rice,

  • Updated

General manager of The Tuscaloosa News, is leaving to take over as publisher of The Troy Messenger, which is owned by Tuscaloosa-based Boone Newspapers.

Stephen J. Adler

  • Updated

Reuters Editor-in-Chief will retire in April, after 10 years at the helm. Adler joined Thomson Reuters in 2010 as senior vice president-editorial director of the company’s professional division.

Colleen McCain Nelson

  • Updated

Is the new executive editor of The Sacramento Bee, and regional editor for McClatchy’s California news outlets, including The Fresno Bee, The Modesto Bee, The Tribune in San Luis Obispo and the Merced Sun-Star.
 McCain Nelson was previously opinion editor at McClatchy and editorial page editor for The Kansas City Star.
 She starts in her new role on Jan. 19.

Keith Poole

  • Updated

Deputy editor-in-chief of The Sun (U.K.), will become editor-in-chief of the New York Post Group in March.

Chris Reen & Ryan McKibben

  • Updated

Clarity Media Group  announced that Chris Reen will become president and CEO at the beginning of 2021. Ryan McKibben, who has held the position since 2004, will become chairman.

Reen recently launched the Denver Gazette. Reen also serves as publisher of the Colorado Springs Gazette, a post he began in February 2019. Reen is the immediate past president of the board of directors for trade association America's Newspapers.

Mary Brown Malouf

Mary Brown Malouf, the executive editor of Salt Lake Magazine, died Dec. 7 after being swept into the Pacific Ocean off the California coast

Monica R. Richardson

The Miami Herald has named Monica R. Richardson as the new executive editor. Richardson, currently the senior managing editor of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, will join the Herald Jan. 1.

Dimon Kendrick-Holmes

Dimon Kendrick-Holmes has been named editor of the Opelika-Auburn News.

Phil Muench

Phil Muench, head pressman for Morris Newspapers of Wisconsin, passed away Dec. 10 after a fight with COVID-19. Muench had handled almost every copy of most of the local weekly papers in southwest Wisconsin since he started working for then-Lancaster Newspapers in 1988.

Bobby Rice

Bobby Rice, former general manager for The Tuscaloosa News, will become publisher of The Troy Messenger, which is owned by Tuscaloosa-based Boone Newspapers. He also is named president and director of Troy Publications and will serve as regional publisher of Boone’s newspaper in Bainbridge, Georgia, and group manager for Boone-managed Alabama newspapers in Andalusia, Atmore and Brewton, as well as those in the Georgia cities of Cordele and Americus.

Henry Ford

Henry Ford has been named chief revenue officer for the Houston Chronicle.. He helped launch the


Alex Kellne

The Courier Journal (Louisville) has hired sales and advertising veteran Alex Kellner to serve as sales director.

Steve Smith

Steve Smith, former Journal Communications chairman and CEO, was named executive chairman of a new company called Inyo Broadcast Holdings that is buying local television.

Catherine Levene

  • Updated

Meredith has named Catherine Levene president of its National Media Group, which houses the company’s magazine brands. She was previously chief digital officer.


Bill Smith

  • Updated

Lee Enterprises has promoted Bill Smith to president and director of local sales and marketing for The Free Lance–Star and the Culpeper Star–Exponent (both in Virginia). Smith succeeds Dale Lachniet, who was named VP finance–corporate controller for Lee

Barbara Leader

  • Updated

Barbara Leader, editor of the Monroe News Star, has been named executive editor of The Lafayette Daily Advertiser and the state editor for Gannett's Louisiana newspapers.

Paul M. Provost

  • Updated

Paul M. Provost, senior vice president of multimedia strategy and sales for Gannett New England, is leaving the company after five years. Provost previously served as publisher and president of the Telegram & Gazette (Worcester, Massachusetts) when it was owned by GateHouse.

Tom Fitzgerald

  • Updated

Tom Fitzgerald has been promoted to director of post-press products for Koenig & Bauer.

Jim Burns

Jim Burns has been named regional production director for Wisconsin State Journal parent company Lee Enterprises. Lee is half-owner of Capital Newspapers, which publishes the Wisconsin State Journal and The Capital Times. In addition to leading the Madison production team, he’ll be working with other Lee markets in Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Arizona and North Dakota.


WPE Berlin

Flip-Pay is a turnkey solution for payments, subscriptions, identity management, customer service, finance and analytics across your entire estate. Installation is effortless and the customisation features make this the most powerful content monetisation platform available. Flip-Pay was created to assist digital content providers with lowering operational running costs, permit frictionless and granular payment options within digital media and deliver GDPR friendly, actionable analytics data to the business and editorial teams.